introduction coach- air pistol

hollowpoint

introduction coach- air pistol

Post by hollowpoint » Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:08 am

hi all , I just retired from coaching air pistol for 15 yrs for Olympic modern pentathlon team, tetrathlon, alta pony club, CRPC Jr program and a few others. most of it was air pistol sub 500, but also coached and competed in rimfire rifle and pistol with Anschutz 54:18, 64 mpr, high standard Olympic citation, fas ap 609, ruger target 10/22, Benjamin trail np2, crosman 2240, cz 452 in 17hmr etc etc. served with PPCLI as well (Canadian army battalion) in 70's so now you know my age range as well.
I really like Hawke Optics out of the UK for airgun scopes and I have 7.
I am completely new to field target air gun so go easy on me. I have begun my journey into field target by purchasing a scuba tank-steel and it weighs a ton, I know 1st mistake, but the guy was laid off and needed the money. I will get a k valve setup with a foster fitting for my rifle-to be purchased this fall- the Benjamin marauder 22 cal.
I am certain I have 90% of all available hunting type pellets by diameter and weight and shape as well as wad cutter target style, so choice for the guns liking, should be ok. I based this rifle choice on my needs for varmint control in the urban interspace between urban and rural where loud guns are not appreciated, and acreages abound with people discovering wild animals and rodents were there first. I will look at a repeater in 22cal, variable power, hpa, regulated, short carbine style and light weight. I need something short to work from inside a portable blind. I have a very long short list to choose from at pyramid, a of a, shooters choice, dl airguns, etc. so still a project in the works buy looking forward to it this winter.
glad to see a Canadian component for this fast rising sport.